The Phillipines

21 Jan

While visiting Andy’s grandfather in Missouri, I got some old photos out from when he was in World War II, curious as to where he was and what he did. He was the radio operator for the 983 Field Artillery Batallion. He was first sent to New Guinea in 1944, and then landed in The Phillipines just in time for The Battle of Leyte http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Leyte

So with that, we were inspired to do a Filipino cuisine for last nights dinner.  Filipino dishes have had many influences including Spanish and Asian. I have to say this was one of the best smelling meals of all! 

I will begin this post with some of the photos Grandpa let me bring to scan in,  then we’ll follow it up with the dishes.

Don Brennenstuhl (Andy’s Grandfather) with his aunt, either leaving for or returning from the war.

A city street in the Phillipines.

Back row, far left, Grandpa Don.

One of his buddies posed for a pic every time they passed a bombed Japanese plane.

Grandpa said that they got bored one day, and stole some Japanese flags, including walking thru a live mine field to get one of them!

Walking thru the jungle.

Bombings just over a hill away from them.

So to begin our Filipino dinner, we started off with some Periwinkle snails, I covered those in the previous blog post. Not a fan of Periwinkle snails! 

Next, Ryder and I made Siopao. These are steamed buns with a meat and egg filling. These were absolutely delicious! I will definitely be making these again soon. Here is the link to the recipe I used. If you are going to make these, I suggest watching the video, it shows how to seal the bun up. It’s not in English, but it’s easy to follow! http://panlasangpinoy.com/2009/08/07/how-to-make-home-made-siopao-asado-recipe/ This particular recipe did not have the hard boiled egg in it, I had found that in some other versions, and I was very glad I used them.

The dough for the siopao and meat filling.

Getting ready to steam.

 

After the Siopao’s were gone, we dove into the Crispy Pata. Real crispy pata is made with a whole pork leg including the knuckles, I searched hi and low, and could not find one. So we settled with the boniest chunk of pork meat I could find at Kroger, that happened to be pork neck bones. They didn’t have much meat on them, but they were very tasty. Here is the recipe, http://casaveneracion.com/crispy-pata/ We also had Ensaladang Talong. This is a cold salad consisting of cooked eggplant, tomatoes, onion, cucumber, with a soy, ginger, & vinegar dressing. http://casaveneracion.com/ensaladang-talong-eggplant-salad/

Bay leaves, sea salt, peppercorns and some cloves.

The pork is slow cooked, and then fried to make it crispy.

From left, Pork Adobo, Sinangag, Crispy Pata, and Siopao.

The main course was Pork adobo with Sinangag, a garlic fried rice. Both dishes were awesome. Here is the recipe for Pork Adobo, http://www.myfilipinorecipes.com/meat/ and Sinangag, http://www.filipinofoodrecipes.net/fried-rice.htm

This meal is not complete in our household without a cold Filipino beer. 

Overall, a big thumbs up to the Filipino cuisine. I loved all of the ingredients (minus snails) and style of cooking. I’m thinking of coming up with my own version of a breakfast Siopao, I’ll share when I do.

 

 

3 Responses to “The Phillipines”

  1. Tuxedo Sophisticated Cat January 21, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    I’m really enjoying your blog. My husband is half Filipino so this one really made his mouth water. I look forward to more.
    Maralee (throughmylens365.wordpress.com)

  2. rgen77 January 22, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Hi, I enjoyed your post and your old pictures during the Japanese war. Across my grandmother’s house we still have an old tunnel that people used to hide into during air raids.

    If you are looking for more Filipino recipes, try marketmanila.com, they have pretty good versions of ensaymada, adobo and other classics!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Malaysian Cuisine « My Curious Palate - June 27, 2012

    […] Phillipines […]

Leave a Reply

