The Kimchi is ready, let’s make Korean!

21 Feb

A couple weeks ago, I began fermenting my Kimchi. I had been so excited to try and cook Korean. Andy and I even went to Sung Korean Bistro http://www.sungkoreanbistro.com/ for our Valentine dinner. It was absolutely delicious. Andy had the Bulgogi, a sweet and spicy marinated beef. I had the Doeji Golbi, spicy marinated pork ribs. I have never in my life tasted anything so wonderful. One of my favorite things about Korean cuisine are all of the little side dishes you get with dinner, called Banchan. There are many different types of Banchan, mostly marinated, pickled or fermented veggies. Kimchi is probably the most well known banchan dishes. I did alot of research, and really wanted to capture the flavor that we had at the restaurant, for our at home Korean dinner.

I did most of my shopping at CAM, Cincinnati Asian Market, http://www.huaxin.us/english/location_cinE.htm The store had so much to choose from prices wer great, but the employees were anything but helpful. Not much was in English, and even the manager wouldn’t walk with me to show me exactly what I was looking for (and the language barrier was not the issue, they knew exactly what I was asking for) I managed to find mostly what I was looking for, purchased it, and left cussing to myself. I’ll probably just hope Jungle Jims has everything I need in the future, and not waste my money there anymore!

I headed out to my parents house to prepare the dinner, spent over 5 hours in the kitchen, and this is what I came up with. (Poor Andy was busy working on a clogged drain at our house we rent, he missed out on the official dinner)

Kimchi

Here is the recipe I used for the Kimchi http://www.easykoreanfood.com/Kimchi-Recipe.html

Soak the cabbage in salt water, 24 hours………….And in fish sauce and spices, 2 weeks 🙂  So good!

Mung Bean Sprout Banchan

http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/sukjunamul

Pyogo Bysot (marinated Shitake Mushrooms)

http://www.insanitytheory.net/kitchenwench/bring-on-the-banchan-pt-1/

This was a great recipe!

I bought these already prepared…Not to tasty 😦

Final Banchan platter

Top left to right: Bean Sprouts, Korean Braised Potatoes (somehow I forgot to photograph these, they were so very good, here is the recipe http://www.insanitytheory.net/kitchenwench/sweet-salty-spicy-korean-braised-potatoes/ ), canned pickled cucumbers.

Bottom left to right: Marinated Mushrooms and Kimchi

How to make chopsticks work for people that can’t use them 🙂 A tutorial:

Rubber band and Chopsticks w/paper.                                           Wrap rubberband above

 Roll paper up tightly.

 

  Place between top of chopsticks.

 Wrap rubberband above paper several times, and only once below paper, so that the top of chopsticks stay together.

Ta-Daa!

 

Daeji Galbi

These did not turn out near as tasty as what I had at the restaurant, not sweet enough, maybe too much onion, but they did taste good. I will be adjusting ingredients in the future to try and get the flavor more to what I was wanting. Here is the recipe I used http://www.trifood.com/daejigalbi.asp

Pork Spare ribs.

My Dad, butchering away.

That awesome cleaver was custom made by my uncle, Ken Bachmann.

Cover in marinade, and allow refrigerate overnight.

Final product, Daeji Galbi

 

Bulgogi

This recipe turned out perfect. So easy and delicious. Follow this recipe, http://www.insanitytheory.net/kitchenwench/bulgogi-traditional-korean-bbq-beef-our-authentic-home-recipe/

Marinating the beef.

Frying the beef.

YUM!

 

Mauentang (Spicy Fish Soup)

This was an adventure to cook! Turned out pretty tasty as well. However, you will make eye contact with your dinner 🙂 http://www.maangchi.com/recipe/maeuntang

Veggies for the stock.

Whole red snapper. Leave those eyeballs in.

Clams, snapper, and shrimp.

The spoons made it all come together!

 

Soju, Koreans sake.

My Mom and Dad taking the first and final drink of Soju. I think Dad is blessing the liqour 🙂

My mom came up with a comfy way for us to sit on the floor!

The kids loved it, and Ryder even ate one of the fish eyeballs. I didn’t even ask him too!

 

Leave a Reply

