Argentine Cuisine

12 Mar

So this week, we decided to try out Argentine food.  Argentine food consist of Mediterranean, Italian and Spanish influences. There were many delicious traditional dishes to choose from, I chose, Empanadas, Ceviche, flank steak marinated in Chimichurri sauce, and a Chimichurri bread, so here we go!

Shrimp and Scallop Ceviche

Ceviche is a dish typically served all over South America, with each region having it’s own version. The process consist of marinating raw seafood in fresh lime juice, this process cooks the fish completely. By the time I finished squeezing the limes, the shrimp had already started to turn pink. Here is the recipe that I used,  http://www.food.com/recipe/argentine-ceviche-84050

If you have never tried this dish, I highly recommend it!

Raw shrimp and scallops.

After marinating for 3 hours, I mixed the seafood in with the remaining ingredients.

So simple, pretty, delicious and very very healthy! I love Ceviche!

 

Argentine Empanada’s

Empanada’s are generally sold on the streets. They are so versatile in the filling and ingredients. The dough was super easy to make, and it really wasn’t that time consuming to stuff. I fried half of mine, and baked the rest. Surprisingly, the baked one’s had more flavor, but I did not get a picture of those, only the fried. Here is the recipe I used, http://www.food.com/recipe/argentinean-empanadas-316614

Empanada dough, I used a bowl to cut the circles out.

The traditional Argentine Empanada filling consist of ground beef, onions, garlic, spices, and hard boiled eggs.

The final product before cooking.

Fried empanda, cut in half.

 

Chimichurri marinated Steak

Chimichurri can be used as a marinade, dip, sauce, and thrown into an array of dishes. Parsley, olive oil, garlic and vinegar are the main ingredients in this fresh sauce. I used this to marinade the steak in for 8 hours, then we grilled the steak to medium rare. I also made Chimichurri bread, which is full of spices, and is very good, in which i served the slice steak on.

Chimichurri Sauce : http://www.asadoargentina.com/parsley-garlic-chimichurri-recipe/

Chimichurri Bread: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/argentine-chimichurri-bread/

After pureeing the Chimichurri ingredients, I spread it all over the steak, reserving some of the sauce to top the bread with.

Grilled to Medium Rare

Chimichurri Bread.

The final product.

Can’t forget the Argentine wine!

Our taste testers, Nick and Jamie.

After several bottles of wine 🙂

 

 

One Response to “Argentine Cuisine”

  1. greenbayounovels June 19, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Hi! I wanted to let you know that I really enjoy reading your posts and that I’ve nominated you for an Illuminating Blogger Award! I look forward to reading your future contributions! Wishing you all the best! Rhonda http://www.greenbayounovels.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

